2021 Dempsey Medal Award

This year, we would like to congratulate our Dempsey Medal recipient, Deirdre Macedo, for her years of dedicated service to our parish community. She has been volunteering in different ministries in our parish for many years including St Vincent De Paul, Extraordinary Ministers of Holy Communion, Altar Society, Catechism, Rosary and Prayer Groups.

This honour is given annually by the Archbishop of Sydney to members of the Catholic clergy and laity in recognition of their outstanding contribution and service to their local parish.

The first Dempsey Medal was awarded in 2017. Previous recipients of the Dempsey Medal in our parish were: Peter McNamara, Michael Hill, and Joan Tumminello.

Archbishop Anthony Fisher OP presents the Dempsey medal to Eastwood parishioner Deirdre Macedo. Photo courtesy of Giovanni Portelli, Catholic Archdiocese of Sydney.